Some Favorite Smoothie Recipes

Some of you may know that my dear husband gave me a Vitamix for Christmas. After drooling over it for the better part of 5 months, he decided the investment was worth it and boy was it! I LOVE THIS MACHINE! It is my child and I will never give it up. So far I have made ice cream (with 3 ingredients and 20 seconds), chopped veggies, made hot soup, whipped up homemade hummus, and of course blended smoothies! I usually make green smoothies because I hate salads and this is one of the only ways I can sneak leafy greens into my body and my old blender left chunks of spinach just chillin in the smoothie….no thanks. The Vitamix has some sort of molecular mumbo-jumbo going on with it and leaves zero chunks- even strawberry or apple seeds are all torn apart entirely. Because of this is gives you more nutrient extraction, etc. etc. Anywho…..Since I have gotten my Vitamix I have experimented with some smoothie ingredients and have complied a list of my favorites so far!

Great Smoothie Recipes!

**Note-  if you are military or a military dependent, go to the main PX to get your Vitamix. They are A LOT less expensive in there and no tax helps a lot. If you want more color options, check out QVC

Back to business…..

Some Favorite Smoothie Recipes

Apple-Orange-Ginger

  • Half of an apple (I use Granny Smith. Leave skin, seeds, etc all on if using a Vitamix)
  • One peeled orange
  • One banana (frozen or not, your choice)
  • A handful of baby carrots (or 1.5 whole carrot)
  • Fresh shaved ginger (add as much or as little for your taste preference)
  • Optional- 4-5 strawberries

Classic Green

  • One peeled orange
  • One banana
  • Handful of spinach (or kale)
  • Half cup pineapple
  • Half apple

Abs on the Beach

  • One peeled orange
  • One banana
  • One cup mango
  • Half of an apple
  • Half cup pineapple (I freeze my pineapple before using)
  • Handful spinach
  • Optional- handful of coconut shavings

Cherry Limeade

  • 1/4 – 1/2 Lime, peeled (include some zest though!)
  • One cup frozen cherries
  • Half of an apple
  • Half of a peach, pitted
  • One banana (for creaminess)

Peachy Mango

  • One banana
  • Half cup mango
  • One peach, pitted (you can leave skin on if using Vitamix)
  • Handful of baby carrots (or 1.5 regular carrot)

Immunity Booster

  • One banana
  • One cup pineapple
  • Half cup blueberries
  • One cup strawberries
  • Handful of spinach (note-this smoothie will likely be a hideous color, but I promise it tastes good)

If you have a favorite smoothie recipe, leave it in the comments! I would love to try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

